http://quozio.com/quote/95fbad9b#!t=1016

I haven’t posted in nine days, and I’m sure you’ve all missed me so much (right?). But, I have been reading what some of you have been posting. And the more I read, the more I realized just how focused on the negative we are. I’m no exception to this.

We write about how lost and alone we are. How we feel like nobody out there cares, how even if there was somebody who cared they would never understand. We write about depression, despair, all of our pain. Every one of our darkest thoughts is poured out onto our blogs.

But why?

Why is it that every time I write, it turns into a rant about my ‘struggles’? What I call my ‘struggles’ are nothing compared to what some of you have been through. And what you have been through is nothing compared to what even more people have been through. The point is, we all struggle.

We all have hearts that break. We all drown in our loneliness. We all feel insecure and doubt. We all hate to be lost, but also hate to reach out and expose our weakness. We’re the same, we all struggle.

So, how is it that we can feel so lost and alone when we’re so much the same?

We do it to ourselves. We put ourselves out on that island of misery, locking our hearts and then crying as we feel abandoned. But doesn’t this make us also the ones abandoning others? Not only do we close ourselves off to anyone on the outside, but we also become so blinded by the darkness we surround ourselves in that we can no longer even see them.

We focus so much on the fact that there isn’t somebody standing by us, waiting to catch us when we fall, that we forget to hold our arms out to catch someone else.

And before you know it, its become a never ending cycle.

With each person blinded by their own darkness, there is another falling with nobody to catch them.

So, come back from your island. Come back and face your struggle, but don’t be blinded. Keep your eyes open. And if it becomes too much, if you slip and fall, if your vision begins to cloud, don’t worry. Mine is clear, and I’ll still catch you when you fall.

