Me and You

You just told me that things are hard for you right now, that it has nothing to do with me, you just don’t want to drag me down with you.

You have no idea how much it hurts me for you to tell me that. I can feel my heart tearing, the pain is physical. In your mind, maybe you really are trying to keep from bringing me down too. Or maybe you’re struggling to find the words to tell me what you’re really feeling. Maybe you just don’t want me to know, you want to put distance between us. I don’t know.

But in my mind, it means I’ve failed as your friend. If you’re sinking but you don’t tell me because you don’t want me to go down with you, I’ve done something wrong. I am for you, always. The entire reason I’m here is to pull you back up. And if I can’t do that, then I’m going to fall right there with you.

You shouldn’t doubt that for a second, there should never be a moment when you let yourself sink alone for my sake.

If you read this, you know its about you. But if you don’t, chances are you’ll never know how I really feel. I was never very good at talking.

And maybe that’s why you’re sinking now.

