Yesterday, I made a post titled Sam vs. The Angels, if you haven’t read it you can here. I decided to do a follow up because that post was different from anything else I’ve written. It didn’t come from me, it wasn’t my story.

A few days ago, I received an email from someone who told me she had read one of my other posts, Sam vs. Pushing Back the Dark. She told me that one of her friends who she was very close to and who she thought she knew very well had recently committed suicide. She told me how this girl always seemed so happy, she always seemed to have it all together. None of them even thought for a second that she was struggling so much.

She told me that there were so many things that she wished she would have done, but now it was too late. Her friend was gone. She wished that she had taken the time to see the battle that her friend was struggling to fight. She wished she would have stepped up to join the fight and push back the dark.

At the end of the email, she asked me to do something. She asked me to write her friend’s story.

She didn’t want anyone else to feel as alone as she believed her friend must have and she trusted me to give her friend the voice she’d lost.

If there is one thing I want to do with my life, more than anything else, it’s to give what limited power I have to those who have none. I don’t just want to offer words of encouragement, I don’t just want to tell you that you aren’t alone, I don’t just want to be another bystander calling out to keep going, telling you not to give up.

I want to take your pain, and give you power in it’s place.

I know pain, I’ve spent enough time being victim to my own to know what it is.

But, that’s my pain. I know my pain, but I want to know yours.

So, tell me your story. Tell me about your broken heart, your shattered dreams, your crushed soul. Tell me what caused you to break, what hardened your heart. Tell me about your battle with the darkness.

And if you’ve lost your voice, if you can’t find the words to say, I will.

I will write your story.

Tell me yours:

samobscure1@gmail.com

