Greetings. Oh, would you look at that! Sam ‘n Charlie! But it’s not Tuesday….

Nothing gets past you, how incredibly observant!

Yes, Sam ‘n Charlie is delayed this week due to multiple unforeseen obstacles. Such as the fact that my brain was a giant pile of mashed potatoes (I’m really getting out of control with these potato references) and I completely forgot.

Anyway, moving right along! Sam ‘n Charlie is here today and, as always, we’d love for you creative little geniuses to use the picture prompt as well if you’re inclined to do so.

You are. Do it.

Artwork property of Charlie Speratis
Artwork property of Charlie Speratis

I remember when the sun used to shine. Everyday, there it would be, high in the sky smiling down on me. There was no darkness, no sadness or pain. I was happy. Always happy.

I remember all of that time I spent laughing and singing, twirling and spinning my way through the fields of blooming flowers. The grass was always green, and while I wandered about in the sunlight, I could feel it’s gentle touch on the soles of my feet as though it was encouraging me on my way.

I remember the birds singing, they were happy too. They flew along beside me and carried their bright tunes with them. They were always there, never leaving me as we continued on, guided by the sun’s rays.

But, then things started to change. They always do, of course. No one can expect the sun to shine forever, at some point it has to burn out. It was subtle at first: a cloud appearing in the endless blue of the sky, flowers wilting and their petals falling, and the birds slowly dropping away and flying back from where we came.

Before I knew it, there was not a trace of the easiness I had known. I was left in silence, alone. I was scared. I didn’t know what to do, I didn’t know where to go. So, I did the only thing I could think to do. I stopped.

More and more clouds came. I tried my hardest to keep my eyes fixed behind me on the light I’d left behind, but soon there were too many and I learned I had to stop looking back. I tried to stay where I was, afraid of wandering too far away and loosing the only comfort I’d known. But then the rain began to fall, and I learned that I had already lost it and I needed to move on.

I trudged on, my feet sinking into the mud from the pouring rain. I was miserable, I could hardly even remember what it felt like to be happy. Yes, I carried on. Forcing one foot in front of the other. I was moving, but I wasn’t going anywhere.

I fixed my eyes on the horizon, hopeful to see a light in the distance. It was never there though, and eventually my eyes stared at nothing but the ground at my feet.

I hated this. Maybe I couldn’t remember my happiness, but I certainly knew this wasn’t it. I was tired of dragging my feet, endlessly pulling myself through the mud that was pulling back. I knew then that I couldn’t wait for the change to come to me, not like it had when the sun used to shine. I knew that this time, I had to find it.

So, what did I do?

I lifted my eyes. I wiped the rain and tears from my cheeks. I picked up my feet.

And I danced through that rain.

