unnamed (13)I’m a Catholic. A cradle Catholic to be more precise.

This meaning since the day I was born, perhaps even before, it was already decided for me. I would be raised that way,  I would be taught to believe it, and I would go through the various steps of the religion.

I never questioned it. When something is introduced and grown in your mind as a young child, you don’t really think about it. Like being taught that you wear socks on your feet, it seems natural. It’s simply something you do.

Just not with sandals. Never with sandals.

But, really, religion isn’t the point of this post. Or at least it shouldn’t be.

How you personally identify or what you consider to be your own sexual orientation has nothing to do with my religion or anyone else’s.

Who am I to say that because of something that is a part of my own religion, you cannot be who you are?

Of course, personally, that isn’t a problem for me. I have absolutely no issue with that. It doesn’t conflict with my views or beliefs, it doesn’t offend me, it doesn’t affect me negatively in any way.

Maybe I’m just not a true Catholic. Maybe I don’t fully support my religion. Or maybe I just understand that we all are people, we all are different, and that isn’t a bad thing.

This didn’t come together quite as eloquently as I had hoped. In my head, it sounded much better. Isn’t that usually the case?

Yet, the point still remains. I have no standing to judge. And, more than that, I have no reason to judge. Even if I’m not the same, I will certainly do nothing to bring you down.

But, I also won’t go above and beyond or treat you as anything more than the human being that you are.

Because that’s what you deserve.

You are nothing less than what I am, nothing less than what all of us are.

And we’re all just fine the way we are.

